French chocolate truffle cake. YES.

This was passed down to me by my grandmother and it’s a hit every time I make it. I’ve had requests for the recipe multiple times so I thought I’d be well worth a spot on the blog! So here it is, the recipe for my French chocolate truffle cake (truffle as in the chocolate candy, not the mushroom).

4 eggs

6 dl / 2.5 cups granulated sugar

200g melted butter

pinch of salt

3 dl / 1.25 cups all-purpose flour

8 tablespoons cocoa powder

0.5 dl / 0.25 cup cold strong coffee

Optional: 150 grams of chocolate ganache or melted chocolate (I used some ganache I had left over in the fridge). Also you can flavour the cake with pretty much anything, like: orange zest, amaretto, berries or even spices.

Turn on the oven to 175°C (350°F).

Stir together sugar and eggs until well mixed. Do not whisk, you don’t want air in this batter. Then stir in the butter and sift the dry ingredients into the egg batter and mix  gently until smooth. Stir in the coffee, ganache and any flavourings.

Grease a spring form pan and pour in the batter. Bake for approximately 30 minutes. Check every minute or so after 20 minutes has passed to make sure it doesn’t come out dry. The cake should still be quite wet in the middle but relatively dry around the edge of the pan.

The cake should sit in the fridge for at least 8 hours (I usually bake it in the evening and let it sit in the fridge over night).

Serve in any manor you wish!

Happy baking!

 

 

2 thoughts on “French chocolate truffle cake. YES.

Leave a Reply

